The members of the 1989 and 1992 U.S. National Five-a-Side (futsal) teams that finished third and second, respectively, in FIFA international competition will be honored by the Walt Chyzowych Fund with its second Distinguished Playing Career Award. The reception and ceremony, sponsored by U.S. Soccer, will be on January 20, 2018 at 4PM in the Philadelphia Downtown Marriott Hotel, Liberty Ballroom A&B.

The 1989 team, coached by 2018 Walt Chyzowych Lifetime Achievement recipient John Kowalski, was the first-ever U.S. team to win a FIFA medal at the Five-a-Side event in the Netherlands. The 1992 team, which competed in Hong Kong and was also coached by Kowalski, is the only U.S. Men's team ever to compete in the final game of a world championship event, finishing second after losing 4-1 to Brazil.

Members of both the ’89 and ’92 squads read like a who’s who of American soccer, including Tab Ramos, U.S. Soccer’s Youth Technical Director and head coach of the U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team; Peter Vermes, coach of Sporting Kansas City (MLS); Jim Gabarra, coach of the Washington Spirit (National Women’s Soccer League); Steve Trittschuh, coach of the Colorado Springs Switchbacks (USL); and Fernando Clavijo, technical director for FC Dallas (MLS).

Several players from the two squads represented the USA at the 1990 World Cup in Italy, including Mike Windischmann (team captain), David Vanole, Bruce Murray, Eric Eichmann and Steve Trittschuh. Two other players, Jeff Agoos and Fernando Clavijo, played for the USA in the 1994 World Cup.